RSS

True Friends

29 Jan

There is No Comparison!

Today was a day where I was thinking and reflecting about my friends of the past, friends of the present and the friends that have been with me through anything and everything.  I wouldn’t say that I ever identified with one clique, friends were friends, no matter what!  I’ve been absolutely blessed to have such smart, funny and beautifully unique woman in my life, even when we’ve lost touch for a period of time, we are able to pick it back up like it was just yesterday that we last spoke.  That is true friendship!

We all know and were a part of each other’s history (from teen to adulthood) and I believe it really says something about who we are and what we mean to each other to still be there so many years later.  I have so many great times from the past to recall, great times from the present that we’ve made together and great times from the future that I know will definitely occur.

One of the best relationships anyone will have in their life (in my opinion) is that of a true friend.  Although unlike the quote below, my girls will make me walk with them, when they know I don’t like walking but when we do, we have the best time.  Clearly they are much more brilliant than I.

oprah quote

Friendship is a gift to be loved, to be nurtured and to be cherished.  Honesty, Truth, Communication and Loyalty are the most important components of any relationship and without them, it will either crumble or you will feel unfulfilled.

I thoroughly enjoyed my teens and early twenties because of these fabulous women and I really could never thank them enough for the cherished memories I have of fun and crazy times.  The only way to truly articulate who they are to me and who they always will be is to say that we are kindred spirits, our paths are forever intertwined for a reason.

I know that there is a future lit up with more of the crazy shenanigans and horseplay and there’s no way I’m going to miss it!

So I looked it up and Friendship Day in Canada is the first Sunday in August but I’m having it early this year because I felt the need today to recognize the great friends I have in my life.

“Happy Friendship Day”

true friend

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2013 in Blog

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “True Friends

  1. lifepotentials

    January 29, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    Well said, Shelley! There is nothing quite so special as a dear friend.

     
    • shelleyhallmark

      February 2, 2013 at 12:14 am

      Yes exactly, and I’ve been so blessed with those that are in my life. Thank-you Diantha! 🙂

       
  2. Brenda Hicks

    January 29, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Wonderful and wise words! I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for the love of good friends! Thank you, Shelley! Blessings xxx

     
    • shelleyhallmark

      February 2, 2013 at 12:16 am

      Yes I agree, my true friends have been a source of so much joy and positive influence and my life wouldn’t have been the same without them. Thank-you Brenda! 🙂

       

Leave a comment